Go to:
service menu

Julius Kühn-Institut (JKI)
Federal Research Centre
for Cultivated Plants

Head
Prof. Dr. Johannes A. Jehle

Address
Schwabenheimer Straße 101
69221 Dossenheim

Office
Ms Christine Fuchs
Tel: +49(0)6151 407-0
Fax: +49(0)6151 407-290
E-mail: bi@  julius-kuehn.  de

Download
Institute Flyer
Institute booklet

Nature offers numerous antagonists of plant pests and diseases. Beyond lady beetles and parasitoid wasps, biological control recruits a broad spectrum of organisms and biological substances: naturally occurring bacteria, fungi and viruses, predatory and parasitic insects, predatory mites and insect pathogenic nematodes but also plant extracts can be used to produce healthy plants and to prevent damage from nature.

The Institute for Biological Control oft he JKI is the only research institute in Germany, dedicated to the whole spectrum of disciplines in biological control of plant pests and diseases. It plays a key role in developing and evaluating methods that are based on natural antagonists for plant pests and disease control.
The institute research evolves around:

  • functional biodiversity
  • biological control of plant pests
  • biological control of plant diseases
  • developing new biological control methods.

Biological plant protection is an important component of integrated pest management, where biological, chemical, physical and cultivation measures are combined for an efficient and environmentally friendly pest control. Biological control methods are of particular importance in organic production, where the application of chemical pesticides is not allowed. Furthermore, they can be used as an alternative to close control gaps. As part of the European efforts to reduce the use of chemical pesticides, biological control measures play an increasingly important role in plant protection practice.

+++ Research News +++

1.12.2021
PhD on biological wireworm control

Biological control of wireworms (Agriotes spp.) in potato cultivation using the entomopathogenic fungus Metarhizium brunneum - this was the PhD thesis of Mr. Maximilian Paluch who successfully defended his PhD on 29.11.2021 at the Technical University of Darmstadt. Congratulations! Within the AgriMet project, Max investigated two new formulations of M. brunneum to control wireworms in potato plantations. In laboratory, greenhouse and field experiments he identified several key factors which have a strong impact on the effectiveness of M. brunneum in field use and which need to be addressed in the development of a sustainable wireworm control strategy. Currently, Dr. Paluch is working at our institute and investigates the production and formulation of antagonistic fungi for the control of phytopathogenic nematodes. This new project is also a cooperation with other JKI institutes and practitioners.

30.11.2021
In case of an emergency, being well prepared is everything!

This motto is followed in international project "Preparedness in biological control of priority biosecurity threats" funded by the Euphresco program: guidelines for a preventive assessment of natural enemies for biocontrol of invasive pests are to be jointly drafted. These evaluation steps will then be tested "theoretically", using internationally significant case studies, for their feasibility. The common goal is to establish an active network for the exchange of information in future decision-making processes on use of invertebrate biological control agents for plant protection.

Contact: kathleen.lemanski@  julius-kuehn.  de

1.11.2021
With nematodes against tomato pests

Entomopathogenic nematodes (EPN) as effective antagonists of tomato pests in Egypt - this was the aim of the dissertation of Mr. Mokhtar Abonaem, which he successfully defended in summer at the Technical University of Darmstadt. Congratulations on this achievement! As a DAAD scholarship holder, Dr. Abonaem selected and tested various EPNs for their suitability in controlling different noctuid moths, tomato leaf miner and whitefly, and tested different formulation and application methods. In the meantime, Mr. Abonaem has returned to the National Plant Protection Research Centre at Cairo and is continuing his work there in optimizing the use of these biological control agents under field conditions in Egypt.

14.10.2021
Insect Doctors PhD course in Paris

Fifteen PhD students of the European project InsectDoctors met for the first time to attend the projects courses II – laboratory methods in insect pathology – and course IV – values and pitfalls of metagenomics for pathogen detection – at the French Institut national de recherche pour l'agriculture, l'alimentation et l'environnement (INRAE) in Jouy-en-Josas, France. In the two-weeks practical workshop the focus lay entirely on insect pathogens and how to detect them. The aim is to prepare the young scientists for their tasks during their PhD and for their future career.

29.09.2021
New resistance type detected.

The codling moth granulovirus (CpGV) is an important biological control agent for codling moth control in integrated and organic apple production. Yet, some pest populations developed resistance against the virus.  In our recent publication  „Cross-Resistance of the Codling Moth against Different Isolates of Cydia pomonella Granulovirus Is Caused by Two Different but Genetically Linked Resistance Mechanisms” we demonstrate the functional differences of type I and type II CpGV resistance as well as which CpGV isolates are suitable to overcome these resistances.


26.08.2021
New baculovirus characterized.

The army fall worm, Spodoptera frugiperda, is an invasive pest species to Africa and Asia, which caused especially in Africa dramatic crop infestations during the last years. In a co-operation with research partners from Benin, a new baculovirus from field samples from Nigeria was isolated and fully sequenced. Phylogenetic analyses revealed that the new SfMNPV isolate is closely related to South-American virus isolates suggesting that the virus was introduced to West-.Africa together with the host S. frugiperda. Publication Genome Sequence of a Spodoptera frugiperda Multiple Nucleopolyhedrovirus Isolated from Fall Armyworm (Spodoptera frugiperda) in Nigeria, West Africa.

25.8.2021
Cooperation project with Laimburg Research Centre (LRC) has started.

In August a JKI co-worker has initiated crossing experiments between different lines of codling moth, Cydia pomonella, which had been selected at LRC for different voltinism behavior. Aim of the project is to identify the molecular determinants steering the diapause and thus the number of codling moth generations produced during the vegetation season. This project will allow an improved evaluation of the influence of global warming on the damaging potential of this pest insect.

Fields of activity

Infobox

Springe direkt zu:
Service Navigation

Julius Kühn-Institut (JKI)
Bundesforschungsinstitut für Kulturpflanzen

Institutsleitung
Prof. Dr. Johannes A. Jehle

Adresse
Heinrichstraße 243
64287 Darmstadt

Sekretariat
Susanne Ganzer
Tel: 06151 407-0
Fax: 06151 407-290
bi@  julius-kuehn.  de

Veröffentlichung
Institutsflyer
Broschüre

Gegen viele Schad- und Krankheitserreger unserer Kulturpflanzen hält die Natur natürliche Gegenspieler bereit. Dabei greift der biologische Pflanzenschutz nicht nur auf Nützlinge wie Marienkäfer oder Schlupfwespen als Gegenspieler zurück, sondern bedient sich einer breiten Palette: Natürlich vorkommende Bakterien, Pilze und Viren, Insekten, Milben und Nematoden, aber auch Pflanzenextrakte helfen, gesunde Pflanzen zu erzeugen und dabei den Naturhaushalt zu schonen. Viele biologische Pflanzenschutzverfahren sind für den ökologischen Anbau von herausragender Bedeutung und kommen auch im integrierten Pflanzenbau zunehmend zum Einsatz.

Das Institut für Biologischen Pflanzenschutz in Darmstadt ist das einzige Fachinstitut in Deutschland, in dem das gesamte Spektrum des biologischen und biotechnologischen Pflanzenschutzes bearbeitet wird. Damit nimmt es eine Schlüsselrolle ein, Pflanzenschutzverfahren zu entwickeln und zu bewerten, die auf der Nutzung natürlicher Antagonisten von Schädlingen (vor allem Schadinsekten und Milben) und Pflanzenkrankheiten basieren.

Am Institut werden die Interaktionen und Wirkmechanismen von Schaderregern und deren Gegenspielern erforscht. Untersuchungen zu diesen Wechselbeziehungen sind von entscheidender Bedeutung, wenn es gilt, biologische Verfahren des Pflanzenschutzes zu entwickeln.

Für neue Strategien zur Biologischen Bekämpfung von Schadorganismen erforschen wir natürlich vorkommende Mikroorganismen, Viren, Insekten, Milben und Nematoden. Wir untersuchen und evaluieren die Wirkung von Naturstoffen, die geeignet sind, Schaderreger zu bekämpfen bzw. die natürlichen Abwehrkräfte der Pflanzen zu fördern.

Ein weiterer Arbeitsschwerpunkt des Instituts sind Untersuchungen zur funktionellen Biodiversität. Die Vielfalt natürlich vorhandener Organismen und deren Rolle in Ökosystemen stehen dabei im Vordergrund. Für eine nachhaltige biologisch-ökologische Landwirtschaft ist die Erforschung solcher Funktionen unerlässlich.

Biologische Pflanzenschutzverfahren sind im ökologischen Landbau von besonders großer Wichtigkeit, da hier chemische Maßnahmen nicht erlaubt sind. Mehr als 95% unsere Forschungsaktivitäten kommen somit direkt oder indirekt dem ökologischen Anbau zu Gute. Der biologische Pflanzenschutz ist zudem ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des integrierten Pflanzenschutzes (IPS). Der IPS kombiniert biologische, chemische und physikalische Maßnahmen, um Schaderreger effizient und umweltschonend zu bekämpfen. Weiterhin können diese Verfahren als Alternative bei der Schließung von Bekämpfungslücken genutzt werden.

Im Rahmen der europaweiten Bemühungen, die Anwendung chemischer Pflanzenschutzmittel zu reduzieren, kommt den biologischen Verfahren eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle in der Pflanzenschutzpraxis zu.

+++ Neues aus der Forschung +++

1.12.2021
Dissertation über biologische Drahtwurmbekämpfung erfolgreich verteidigt

Mit seiner Dissertation „Biological control of wireworms (Agriotes spp.) in potato cultivation using the entomopathogenic fungus Metarhizium brunneum“, die er im Rahmen eines Gemeinschaftsprojekts beim JKI-Schwester Institut für Pflanzenschutz im Ackerbau und Grünland angefertigt hat, wurde Maximilian Paluch am 29.11.2021 an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt promoviert. Herzliche Gratulation! Maximilian untersuchte im Rahmen des AgriMet-Projekts zwei neue Formulierungen auf Basis des entomopathogenen Pilzes M. brunneum, um Drahtwürmer im Kartoffelanbau zu bekämpfen. Dabei konnte er in Freiland-, Gewächshaus-, und Laborversuchen verschiedene Faktoren identifizieren, die die Wirksamkeit von M. brunneum im Feldeinsatz beeinflussen und die daher in der Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Bekämpfungsstrategie von Drahtwürmern dringend berücksichtigt werden müssen. Zurzeit bearbeitet Dr. Paluch an unserem Institut ein Projekt zur Produktion und Formulierung von antagonistischen Pilzen zur Bekämpfung von phytopathogenen Nematoden. Auch dies ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit anderen JKI-Instituten und der Praxis.

30.11.2021
Im Falle eines Falles ist gute Vorbereitung alles!

Diesem Motto wird in dem durch das Euphresco-Programm geförderten, internationalen Projekt „Preparedness in biological control of priority biosecurity threats“ gefolgt: es sollen gemeinsam Richtlinien für eine vorbereitende Bewertung spezifischer Gegenspieler für eine biologische Regulierung invasiver Schädlinge entworfen werden. Diese Evaluierungsschritte werden dann anhand von international bedeutsamen Fallbeispielen „theoretisch“ durchgespielt und auf ihre Umsetzbarkeit geprüft. Das gemeinsame Ziel ist der Aufbau eines aktiven Netzwerkes zum Austausch von Informationen in zukünftigen Entscheidungsprozessen beim Nützlingseinsatz.

Kontakt: kathleen.lemanski@  julius-kuehn.  de

1.11.2021
Mit Nematoden gegen Tomatenschädlinge

Entomopathogene Nematoden (EPN) als wirksame Gegenspieler von Tomatenschädlingen in Ägypten - dies war das Ziel der Dissertation von Herrn Mokhtar Abonaem, die er erfolgreich im Sommer an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt verteidigt hat. Hierzu gratulieren wir herzlich! Dr. Abonaem hat als DAAD-Stipendiat verschiedene EPN ausgewählt und hinsichtlich ihrer Eignung zur Bekämpfung von verschiedenen Eulenraupen, Tomatenminiermotte und Weiße Fliege geprüft und verschiedene Formulierungs- und Applikationsverfahrens getestet. Mittlerweile ist Herr Abonaem an das National Plant Protection Research Centre in Kairo zurückgekehrt und arbeitet dort weiter, um diese speziellen Nützlinge unter Freilandbedingungen in der Praxis einsetzen zu können.

14.10.2021
Insect Doctors PhD-Kurs in Paris

Fünfzehn Doktorand*innen im EU-Projekt InsectDoctors trafen sich zum ersten Mal für Kurs II – Methoden der Insektenpathologie – und Kurs IV – Metagenomics zur Detektion von Insektenpathogenen – am französischen Institut national de recherche pour l'agriculture, l'alimentation et l'environnement (INRAE) in Jouy-en-Josas, Frankreich. In einem zweiwöchigen Programm drehte sich alles um Insektenkrankheiten und deren molekularen Nachweis. Ziel war es, die Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen für ihre Aufgaben im Projekt und ihr späteres Berufsleben bestens vorzubereiten

29.09.2021
Neuer Resistenztypus beim Apfelwickler entdeckt.

Das Apfelwicklergranulovirus (CpGV) ist ein bedeutender biologischer Eckpfeiler im integrierten und ökologischen Obstbau zur Regulierung des Apfelwicklers. Doch haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren unterschiedliche Resistenztypen entwickelt. In unserer neuen Publikation „Cross-Resistance of the Codling Moth against Different Isolates of Cydia pomonella Granulovirus Is Caused by Two Different but Genetically Linked Resistance Mechanisms” zeigen wir, wie sich Resistenztyp I und Resistenztyp II unterscheiden und welche CpGV-Isolate geeignet sind, diese Resistenzen zu brechen.

26.08.2021
Neues Baculovirus charakterisiert.

Der Herbst-Heerwurm, Spodoptera frugiperda, ist ein invasiver Schädling in Afrika und Asien, der seit einigen Jahren besonderes auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent dramatische Schäden an Feldfrüchten verursacht. In einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen unserem Institut und Forschungspartnern aus Benin wurde ein neues Baculovirus aus Nigeria isoliert und charakterisiert. Verwandtschaftsuntersuchen zeigen, dass das neue Virus mit südamerikanischen SfMNPV-Isolaten nah verwandt ist, was vermuten lässt, dass das Virus zusammen mit dem Wirt S. frugiperda nach Afrika eingewandert ist. Publikation Genome Sequence of a Spodoptera frugiperda Multiple Nucleopolyhedrovirus Isolated from Fall Armyworm (Spodoptera frugiperda) in Nigeria, West Africa.

25.8.2021
Kooperationsprojekt mit dem Laimburg Research Centre gestartet.

Seit Anfang August weilt ein Mitarbeiter des JKI in Südtirol, um Kreuzungsversuche zwischen verschiedenen Stämmen des Apfelwicklers mit unterschiedlichen Diapause-Eigenschaften durchzuführen. Ziel des Projektes ist die molekulare Analyse der Steuerung der Diapause des Apfelwicklers, um abzuschätzen, welche genetische Eigenschaften der Schädling hat, durch den Klimawandel ein höheres Schadpotential zu entwickeln.

Infobox